Member of the Morrant Four Counties League
[Home] [Members Area]


Three of the club's players swept the board at the Shenley Church End Cricket Club annual awards dinner, held at Abbey Hill Golf Club on Friday 9th November to recognise the achievements on and off the field for club members.

Over 30 people attended the function, organised and MC'ed by chairman Ian Peacock. It included a 3 course meal, a lively raffle and the handing out of club awards, given for various batting, bowling, on and off field recognition, presented as ever by Club President Mick Holman. And not to forget the night's most eagerly awaited feature, Stuart Burke's superb 2007 and career statistics handbooks.

New boy Anton DeBeer earned the accolade of Most Runs (721) and Best Batting Average (65.55), to go pleasantly with the clean sweep of Morrant Four Counties League Division Three titles. The club's Best Bowling Average award also found DeBeer's grasp - gained by a stupendous Geoff Devereux'esque average of 7.98!

But unsung hero Graham Teagle took the coveted Most Wickets award for the 2nd season running, taking a total of 44 wickets. This included 28 in Saturday cricket, taking 2 wickets or more on eight occasions and achieving a 5 wicket haul - a feat considering only 13 matches were actually played.

Teagle also managed to impress skipper Stuart Hardwick, Richard Fletcher and Stuart Burke again in 2007, to follow up his impressive Captains award in 2006. His form with the bat was a contributory factor, netting 170 runs over 16 innings, with 5 not outs, mostly at the death of important matches.

Anthony Brace received the Clubman's trophy and the Peter Bearman trophy, repeating the latter from 2006. "Bracey" has improved no end in his all round contribution. His fielding, his concentration in batting and bowling has seen a marked increase. Also, his off the field contributions in undertaking umpiring qualifications and taking guards in many Saturday matches is well received and well deserved by all at the club who voted at th AGM.

[Members Area]

© SCECC 2007 - Created and maintained by Simon Sidwell