Member of the Morrant Four Counties League
[Home] [Members Area]


Shenley Church End CC held their Annual General Meeting at Abbey Hill Golf Club on Thursday 25th October, chaired by first year head Ian Peacock and attended by many of the club.

With Shenley's season being disrupted by the bad summer downpours, it was wholeheartedly agreed that 2007 wasn't the greatest season of cricketing action, and looked back at the missed opportunity of promotion in Morrant Four Counties Division Three as the main success - and disappointment to those who were most involved in the Saturday line-up.

There were no changes to any of the main committee members. Ian Peacock was unanimously given the green light to carry on as Chairman. Andy Peacock and Stuart Burke were retained as Treasurer and Secretary, plus Jay Fletcher carried on his role as Fixture Secretary.

A motion was carried for two increase in money making capacities. The yearly subscription to SCECC would be increased to 30 from 25 in order to raise extra funds. Also, a slightly light hearted increase comes in the form of fines, that will be dished out if Shenley's batsmen suffer a dropped catch by the opposition whilst in action themselves!

Shenley Church End CAPTAINCY
Stuart Hardwick remain as Saturday Captain, after a terrific campaign which almost culminated in promotion. Saturday Vice Captain for the 2008 season is Richard Fletcher, ably assisting Hardwick for the 3rd year running.

However, Fletcher decided to relinquish the Sunday Captain role after 9 years due to family commitments. Ian Peacock also stepped down as Sunday Vice Captain, citing his match commitments hampered. This meant a new pair would step into the role.

Simon Sidwell agreed to take over the captaincy for the forthcoming season, while Jay Fletcher and Anthony Brace battled for the deputy spot. Jay eventually won on a vote, but Anthony's bold interest was welcomed by the attendees.

Stuart Burke stepped down as Midweek skipper, only to be ably replaced by incoming captain and long serving midweek player Grahame Wild.

In addition to the 800 raised by the Four Pitch Challenge walkers, president Mick Holman made a sizeable donation to our fund raising efforts - named the Sight Screen Fighting Fund - for which the club thank Mick wholeheartedly for his contribution - not just the donation, for his Sunday umpiring efforts also.

The usual course of the AGM saw reports from all committee members and current captains, as well as discussions on all aspects of the club. A vote for the Clubman's trophy took place, and healthy dialogue about club activities. Members and those affiliated with SCECC can obtain any of this information from either Ian Peacock or Nick Rogers.

Attendees: Nick Rogers, Mike Holman, Ian Peacock, Stuart Burke, Andy Peacock, Stuart Hardwick, Richard Fletcher, Jay Fletcher, Simon Sidwell, Colin Wayman, Graham Teagle, Chris Peacock, Shaun Fox, Homer Evans, Anthony Brace.
Apologies/Absent: Steve Palmer, Jon Pennells

[Members Area]

© SCECC 2007 - Created and maintained by Simon Sidwell