Member of the Morrant Four Counties League
[Home] [Members Area]

01/05/2010 - Morrant Four Counties Cricket League

Shenley Church End CC - 114 (4 points) LOST TO
Old Bradwell CC 1st XI - 206-6 (30 points) by 92 runs

The first Saturday fixture at the "Manor" found Shenley facing opposition from last year's Div 1. The feeling in the camp was that this would be a sterner test than the season opener; and so it proved.

Bradwell were first to bat and Shenley's warm up regime reaped its rewards with sharp catches taken in the slips by Rob Hatcher & Anton De Beer, backing Shenley's bowling attack.

Bradwell clearly wanted to push on - however, they were held back by SCECC's efforts in the field. Saturday debutant Tom Marshall impressed with tight bowling, striking middle stump twice in the final throws of the Bradwell innings as they finish on 206-6.

Tea was taken and what a delight - hot drinks at Manor Fields (for the first time in years!!).

In reply Shenleys openers provided a steady start. Colin Wayman was in good touch with shots through the offside, before nicking one of the inside edge, taken by the keeper low to his left.

Shenley were progressing well until Bradwell’s first change bowler (Downard) made a breakthrough. This proved to be the catalyst to the innings as wickets fell at regular intervals. Simon Sidwell had a late flourish with the bat but it was not enough to save the game as Shenley fell some way short of the total that had been set.

Finally, there were some bizarre 'ball striking head' incidents during Shenley's stint in the field (notably Tom Marshall and Shiv Meeda). Don’t intend to dwell on these too much, other than being very impressed when Meeda "headed" the ball some distance to boundary, but still managed to smile throughout the experience!


SCECC - Anton De Beer 31, Simon Sidwell 30.
OBCC - Felce 49, Downard 56

SCECC - Tom Marshall 2/?
OBCC - Downard 6-21

Pitch Condition: Flat, green, even, offered for both bat and bowl
Strip used: | 11 | 10 | 9 | 8 | 7 | 6 | 5 | 4 | 3 | 2 | 1 |

Team: Richard Fletcher (c), Homer Evans, Colin Wayman, Anton De Beer, Tom Marshall, Shiv Meeda, Rob Hatcher, Simon Sidwell, Graham Teagle, Jay Fletcher, Kieran Burke. Umpire: Mike Camwell.

Report by Homer Evans.
2010 Index

© SCECC 2010 - Created and maintained by Simon Sidwell