Member of the Morrant Four Counties League
[Home] [Members Area]

10/05/2008 - Morrant FCCL Division 3

Shenley Church End CC - 222-6 (14 points) DREW with
New Bradwell CC 2nd XI - 201-5 (13 points)

Shenley Church End dropped one League position and threw away their the chance of claiming a winning draw by a bigger margin, by allowing New Bradwell 2nds to sneak past two vital landmarks and claw back points at the death at Manor Fields on Saturday.

Despite a typically confident 44 overs by Shenley's batsman, their bowlers didn't get off to a bright start, and a mid-innings slowdown by the visitors sparked thoughts of a decent winning draw. But a late surge by Bradwell neared and took them past the landmark of 197 and balls later past 200 to claim the most possible points without winning.

A fantastic stalwart innings by Andy Peacock (66) lasting 40 overs really gave stability to the carefully planned SCECC innings. Helped along by a midway surge of 54 from Richard Fletcher, a battering 32 from Anton DeBeer and a nifty 31 from Stuart Burke, they cruise past 200 and reached 222 thanks to a huge six by Graham Teagle in the final over.

Jay Fletcher and Jon Pennells didn't make the best of starts in the reply, allowing Pete Cook to race to 46, meanwhile DeBeer (2-42) took the first wicket with a rasping ball clattering the stumps. Graham Stanford (50) moved the innings on and Ben Riches showed good form for 38 not out to aid Bradwell's late surge - admittedly after the 222 target was out of reach.

It still denied Shenley outright 2nd place, settling for joint runners-up so far with Eggington on 57 points, and narrowly behind Milton Bryan on 65, however a start like this isn't to be taken for granted, as next week's game against Eggington will be vital to assuring their place in the upper echelons of Division 3.

Strip used: | 8 | 7 | 6 | 5 | 4 | 3 | 2 | 1 |
Pitch Condition: Dry and fairly hard, Outfield dry.
Catches dropped: ?
Toss: Won and Batted (1 out of 3)

Team: Andy Peacock, Homer Evans, Colin Wayman, Anton DeBeer, Richard Fletcher, Stuart Burke, Stuart Hardwick (c), Graham Teagle, Steve Palmer, Jay Fletcher, Jon Pennells. Umpire: None.

[Members Area] [2008 League Tables]

© SCECC 2008 - Created and maintained by Simon Sidwell